Affordable Online Ancient Language Programs for Students of the Early Church

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
seeker538
Languages: English (Native)
Egyptian Colloquial Arabic (Advanced)
Standard Arabic (Intermediate)
Koine Greek (Inquirer)

Affordable Online Ancient Language Programs for Students of the Early Church

Postby seeker538 » Thu Mar 11, 2021 5:17 pm

Hi all! I am a student of early Christian thought and intend on beginning a master's in theology program this coming fall. To complement my studies, I also want to gain a grasp of ancient Greek (to study the New Testament and Church Fathers), classical Arabic* (which I already have some foundation in having grown up in an Egyptian household), and possibly Coptic/Syriac.

To this end, are there any affordable online ancient language programs that I might be able to enlist in for the coming fall semester?

Thanks for your help!

*For those wondering why classical Arabic specifically, I am interested in medieval Arabophone Christianity
1 x

einzelne
Blue Belt
Languages: Russan (N), English (Working knowledge), French (Reading), German (Reading), Italian (Reading on Kindle)

Re: Affordable Online Ancient Language Programs for Students of the Early Church

Postby einzelne » Thu Mar 11, 2021 7:31 pm

I cannot recommend any online classes but when it comes to Ancient Greek, I would strongly recommend to watch the following video even if your goal is Koine.

In general, the situation with Greek is not that great in comparison to Latin, not to mention live languages. But a lot of 19th century books are now available online on Google books (lots of intermediate readers to get reading practice, interlinear editions etc). Language enthusiasts started to make audio recordings. The situation is way better then, say, 10 years ago (not to mention the pre-Internet era).
Last edited by einzelne on Fri Mar 12, 2021 8:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
2 x

guyome
Blue Belt