age and learning

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
firstyears
Languages: eng-GR

age and learning

Postby firstyears » Mon Nov 02, 2020 6:29 pm

hey everyone . how are you doing ?
I was wondering how old you guys are and at what age did you start learning a new language ?
any advice about the age to start learning new languages ?
im thinking about teaching French to my kids but i kinda think they are too young for that. please give me your ideas. thanks
0 x
we can usebirth calculator to know our age at any of our birthdays !

Cèid Donn
Blue Belt
Languages: en-us (n); français, gàidhlig, gaeilge, cymraeg, brezhoneg, español

Re: age and learning

Postby Cèid Donn » Tue Nov 03, 2020 2:47 am

Myself, I was 13 when I started learning German in middle school.

I don't have an opinion on how early to start, but as a teacher, I have worked with bilingual kids in elementary schools, most of whom are bilingual by the time they start kindergarten. Since most of these kids' first language is Spanish, I have to provide them with support with learning English and the key there is structure and consistency. At home most of these kids use only or mostly Spanish so when they are exposed to English, those two things are very important, along with lots of repetition, lots of realistic expectations and lots of positive reinforcement. Kids are learning machines and they do fine when they get the support they need to learn, as long as the adults around don't screw things up for them. :lol:
2 x
Note from an educator and former ESL/test skills tutor: Any learner, including self-learners, can use the CEFR for self-assessment. The CEFR is for helping learners progress and not for gatekeeping and bullying.

tangleweeds
Green Belt
Languages: English (N)
beginner: Irish
clearing cobwebs: Japanese
on the shelf: French, Latin
wanderlust: Norwegian, Vietnamese
Language Log: viewtopic.php?t=705

Postby tangleweeds » Tue Nov 03, 2020 5:00 am