How would you use time w/ a native speaker (who speaks your NL fluently)?

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
pengin

How would you use time w/ a native speaker (who speaks your NL fluently)?

Postby pengin » Sun Sep 20, 2015 3:54 pm

I have 1-2hr. a week reserved with a native speaker who knows my NL as well.
I'm looking for suggestions on what I should do during these meetings. I am a beginner.
They do not have experience teaching nor do have any linguistics background, so asking for
explicit grammar instruction would probably not turn out well.

Here are some ideas I've thought of:
- asking for sentence translations from my NL -> to their TL.
Just things that I come across through my week that I realize I would like to know how to
express.

- asking for sentence translations, but w/small changes to intuitively grasp grammar.
e.g., asking how to say "I want to go" and then asking "I do not want to go" (simple ex.)

- asking for help w/pronunciation; correcting my pronunciation.

- I would try to make a list of sentences myself, and have them proof-read it. Ask them if there is
a more "native" way of expressing the same concept. sort've like lang-8

- asking about colloquial words/slang and filler words...
ex. travailler -> bosser in french or saying "este" for ummm in Spanish

What would you do if you had a native speaker of your TL ? This is a supplement to my learning,
and I would continue to use other resources to self-study as well.
0 x

Bakunin
Orange Belt
Languages: German (N), English, Thai, Swiss-German (adv.), Khmer, Isaan (studying); dormant: French, Polish

Re: How would you use time w/ a native speaker (who speaks your NL fluently)?

Postby Bakunin » Sun Sep 20, 2015 7:52 pm

Welcome to the forum, pengin! I'm working a lot with tutors but since I'm not using textbooks or translation in my studies my approach might not be right for you. Nevertheless, here are a few ideas: