Arabic Books + Audiobooks

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
Socratic1
Languages: English (N), German (C1), Arabic (beginner)

Arabic Books + Audiobooks

Postby Socratic1 » Sun Feb 23, 2020 11:54 am

Hello! I'm new to the forum, and this is my first post. I'm happy to be here with all of you.

On Wednesday I have my last exam and then will begin learning Arabic. I'd love to find some audiobooks in Arabic. Ideally, I'd like to have the audiobook as well as a transcript of the text, and I'd prefer to own the mp3 of the audiobook, not just stream it via a subscription service. As I'm just getting started, children's books would be ideal. Thanks for the suggestions!
3 x

Maiwenn
Orange Belt
Languages: English (N) & French
focusing on: MSA & Moroccan Arabic
backburner: German
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... =15&t=7321

Re: Arabic Books + Audiobooks

Postby Maiwenn » Mon Feb 24, 2020 12:16 pm

Hey! Welcome to the forum!!

I haven't had much luck finding mp3s of Arabic audiobooks for purchase online aside from Harry Potter. I do use the Kitab Sawti subscription service, however, and enjoy using that. That said, I definitely understand the appeal of actually owning the content you're listening to.

Are you planning on learning MSA purely or will you be learning simultaneously with a dialect?

Lingualism makes great resources in MSA and some dialects. The audio is free through the website and you can buy the accompanying text. https://lingualism.com/product-category ... rd-arabic/ They've also just launched a community for Arabic language learners, which may be of some interest to you.

Arabic Stories for Language Learners by Hezi Brosh and Lufti Mansur also seems like it could be a good fit for you. The book comes with a CD recording of the stories.

Best of luck!
6 x
SC reading: 3819 / 10000 AR
SC reading: 3334 / 5000 FR
SC reading: 65 / 2500 DE :?

Corrections are always welcome. :)

Speakeasy