Am I a false beginner?

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
leosmith
Brown Belt
Languages: English (N)
Spanish (adv)
French (int)
German (int)
Japanese (int)
Korean (int)
Mandarin (int)
Portuguese (int)
Russian (int)
Swahili (int)
Tagalog (int)
Thai (int)

Am I a false beginner?

Postby leosmith » Thu Dec 12, 2019 7:12 am

I've been calling myself a false beginner in Swahili, but I wonder if that's the right term. I lived in Tanzania 1999-2002, and reached a level roughly equal to B1 at best. About 10 years after I left I realized I couldn't hold a conversation in the language, due to lack of usage. And that was nearly 10 years ago. So now that I am studying it again, am I a false-beginner or is there a more appropriate term?
2 x
https://languagecrush.com/reading - try our free multi-language reading tool

tarvos
Black Belt - 2nd Dan
Languages: Native: NL, EN
Professional: ES, RU
Speak well: DE, FR, RO, EO, SV
Speak reasonably: IT, ZH, PT, NO, EL, CZ
Need improvement: PO, IS, HE, JP, KO, HU, FI
Passive: AF, DK, LAT
Dabbled in: BRT, ZH (SH), BG, EUS, ZH (CAN), and a whole lot more.
Language Log: http://how-to-learn-any-language.com/fo ... PN=1&TPN=1

Re: Am I a false beginner?

Postby tarvos » Thu Dec 12, 2019 10:08 am

That's pretty much a false beginner, yup
6 x
I hope your world is kind.

Is a girl.

Speakeasy

Postby Speakeasy » Thu Dec 12, 2019 12:02 pm

I agree with Tarvos. :)

Definition of “False Beginner”
Here are a few definitions …

Oxford Learner’s Dictionary: a person who has a basic knowledge of a language, but has started to study it again from the beginning.

Collins Dictionary: a language student who has some knowledge of a language, but who needs to start again from the beginning

MacMillian Dictionary: someone who starts to study a language from the beginning again, although they already have a slight knowledge of it

How to Diagnose False Beginner Students – Source: FluentU