Learning a language with few technological resources (Amharic specifically)

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
lil_pug
White Belt
Languages: English (N)
Vietnamese (beginner)
Spanish (B1/B2)
Thai (A2)

Learning a language with few technological resources (Amharic specifically)

Postby lil_pug » Thu Nov 07, 2019 5:30 am

The way in which I learn a language is by first writing all the letters in the alphabet in the language that I want to learn, in this case, it's Amharic. I'm a very tech savvy person, so I prefer to use Apps on my phone and trace my finger on the screen to imitate writing. This would not be a problem for a language like Chinese/Japanese/Thai etc, but unfortunately I can't find any App that uses this tracing technology as well as uses a somewhat spaced-repetition method that can quiz me on the letters.

*Does anyone know any Apps compatible with the current iPhone that uses the tracing technology and a spaced-repetition method?
*If not, should I just go about learning the alphabet the old-fashioned way by hand?
*And how should I test myself on the alphabet? Just use Quizlet decks?
*Also should I use an online tutor once every week or two weeks just to be sure that my pronunciation and techniques that I employ are on track, or should I wait until I achieve a conversational level before utilizing an online tutor?
1 x

Monelasa
White Belt
Languages: N: German
C1+: English
C1: French, Spanish, Polish
B2+: Hungarian
B1: Russian, Dutch
A2+: Finnish
A1: Turkish, Amharic

Re: Learning a language with few technological resources (Amharic specifically)

Postby Monelasa » Thu Nov 07, 2019 9:08 pm

Yippie, one more Amharic enthusiast! Welcome to the forum! :)