I'm writing an email to my Hungarian aunt. Need some help with sentences!

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
Kera
Languages: English (N), Hungarian (beginner)

I'm writing an email to my Hungarian aunt. Need some help with sentences!

Postby Kera » Thu Sep 26, 2019 2:58 am

Sziasztok!

I'm very new to Hungarian but I've started to email my aunt who knows very little English. Currently I'm cross referencing google translate with other resources so it's slow going and questions abound. She's 76 so I don't know how formal I should be either...we're family but we've never met before. Should I use the more formal versions of words? Like köszönöm vs kösz?

Here's some more specific questions:

If I wanted to say "my sister" should I use nővérem or húgom? Specifically in the context: My sister Emily is nineteen years old.

How do I translate the sentence: I can send you pictures of my family if you would like. Google translate is telling me családomról for "my family," but shouldn't it just be családom? The phrase "I can" is also different from google to other translators.

Last sentence: If there is a time that is better for us to visit you, we could do that.

Kösz!!
0 x

Deinonysus
Brown Belt
Languages:  
• Native: English
• Advanced: French
• Intermediate: German,
   Spanish, Hebrew
• Beginner: Italian,
   Arabic

Re: I'm writing an email to my Hungarian aunt. Need some help with sentences!

Postby Deinonysus » Fri Sep 27, 2019 11:21 am

Unfortunately I am also only a beginner in Hungarian, but I think I have an answer about the difference between családom and családomról. Many times where we would use prepositions in English, Hungarian uses cases instead, so one Hungarian word will often translate to several English words.