learning vocab / Anki alternative question

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
EmGeeFab
White Belt
Languages: English (N), German (advanced), Hebrew (early intermediate), Spanish (beginner)

learning vocab / Anki alternative question

Postby EmGeeFab » Sat Sep 14, 2019 2:00 pm

Hi all,
I've been studying Hebrew somewhat intensely for about 10 months now and my Anki deck is substantial. For a while, I was spending nearly an hour a day going through vocabulary. I've whittled it down to 30 minutes per day, but it still feels overwhelming. Now, I'm only adding twelve new cards per day, which barely keeps me up with my weekly (or less) tutoring sessions.

I am frustrated because it takes so long and sometimes doesn't feel effective (why oh why can't I remember certain words???). I use picture cards and recorded words. I also have dialogs which I make into Cloze cards. I'm a really oral person, so those are my favorites.

Our house flooded and I've been working on the renovation, too, so I've got extra stress in life. I need to find a way to work on this that I actually look forward to. Anki isn't it right now. I'm not ruling out Anki forever, but I may need to take a break. I've got 11,000+ Anki cards right now.

Suggestions?
Thanks, Emily
0 x

Iversen
Black Belt - 4th Dan
Languages: Monolingual travels in Danish, English, German, Dutch, Swedish, French, Portuguese, Spanish, Catalan, Italian, Romanian and (part time) Esperanto
Ahem, not yet: Norwegian, Afrikaans, Platt, Scots, Russian, Serbian, Bulgarian, Albanian, Greek, Latin, Irish, Indonesian and a few more...
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1027

Re: learning vocab / Anki alternative question

Postby Iversen » Sat Sep 14, 2019 2:12 pm

Throw the old deck out and start a new one
6 x

rdearman
Site Admin
Languages: English (N)
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1836

Postby rdearman » Sat Sep 14, 2019 2:40 pm

Some queries.

Are you doing word only or sentence cards?