Quickest way to Advanced-mid Spanish

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
GrayM
White Belt
Languages: English (N), Spanish (B1-2)

Quickest way to Advanced-mid Spanish

Postby GrayM » Sat Sep 07, 2019 10:27 pm

Hello all. I’m considering a career change, and a medical interpreter certificate would be beneficial to me. To even begin the process of obtaining that, I would have to speak Spanish at the advanced-mid level on the ACTFL scale. What is the quickest route to get there?

To give a little background about myself, I graduated with a degree in Spanish Language and Literature five years ago. When I graduated I spoke spanish at the intermediate-high/advanced-low level per the ACTFL scale but I feel like my language skills have slipped since then.

My fiancé is from Guatemala, but she is way to critical of my Spanish to actually help. I tend to be a visual leaner and have started reading “The Little House on the Prairie” books in Spanish. That seems to be improving things (my fiancé agrees) but I would love more suggestions.

Thanks for your time!

Gray
0 x

golyplot
Black Belt - 1st Dan
Languages: Am. English (N), German, French, ASL (abandoned), Spanish, Dutch, Italian, Japanese (N2)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=12230

Re: Quickest way to Advanced-mid Spanish

Postby golyplot » Wed Sep 11, 2019 2:52 pm

That depends a lot on your time and resources.

Quickest is probably some combination of full time immersion with intensive tutoring and studying. But that's generally not an option for most people.

Anyway, I think the real secret to language learning is that there is no secret. What you do matters a lot less than how much you do it. What you really need is dedication and perseverance. The rest is just a matter of figuring out what works for you.
6 x

Querneus
Blue Belt
Languages: Speaks: Spanish (N), English
Studying: Latin, French, Mandarin

Postby Querneus » Thu Sep 12, 2019 6:41 pm