maintaining and advancing slowly in Hebrew

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
EmGeeFab
White Belt
Languages: English (N), German (advanced), Hebrew (early intermediate), Spanish (beginner)

maintaining and advancing slowly in Hebrew

Postby EmGeeFab » Tue Jul 16, 2019 10:53 am

Hi everyone,

I'm new here. I'm a native English speaker and learned German to nearly-fluent as a teen. Now, I've been learning Hebrew intensely for about 9 months but I need to reduce my study time in Hebrew. I know if I let Hebrew drop, I'll forget it because I'm only at the early intermediate stage. I have started reading short stories, but it is a ton of work and takes me about 10 minutes per page. I don't feel like I can devote more than 30 minutes per day to Hebrew; right now it comes closer to two hours per day doing a combination of Anki, reading, meeting with a tutor, writing, watching TV (very little), etc.

Any advice about how to keep going in Hebrew? I'm OK with slowly advancing, but I tend towards an all-or-nothing attitude.

I'm need to step back in Hebrew because I want to spend time reading and speaking in German again, and all my spare time has been used in Hebrew over the last 9 months.

Thanks,
Emily
0 x

Deinonysus
Brown Belt
Languages:  
• Native: English
• Advanced: French
• Intermediate: German,
   Spanish, Hebrew
• Beginner: Italian,
   Arabic

Re: maintaining and advancing slowly in Hebrew

Postby Deinonysus » Tue Jul 16, 2019 1:08 pm

If you drop Hebrew now you will probably forget a lot of what you learned, but it won't be gone forever. When you pick Hebrew back up in the future, you won't be starting from scratch. It should come back to you very quickly. At least that's been my experience with Hebrew (and other languages as well). It will take you a little bit of time to refresh your memory, but then you'll be right back to where you are now.
1 x
/daɪ.nə.ˈnaɪ.səs/

rdearman
Site Admin
Languages: English (N)