A Beginner Needs Help in Where to Start for Learning Italian!

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
mattk12
Languages: Native in English, currently an absolute beginner for Italian and possibly Portuguese.

A Beginner Needs Help in Where to Start for Learning Italian!

Postby mattk12 » Sat Jul 06, 2019 12:45 am

Hello!

First off, I have never learned another language in my life. Seriously. I am very new with this language learning stuff. I am absolutely stuck on where to start. My first language that I will pursue learning is Italian. I get scared by researching different programs because there is SO many "cons." Where can I start learning this beautiful language? What are some solid programs, books, or anything that I can start learning from? Any help would be appreciated!
2 x

Brun Ugle
Black Belt - 2nd Dan
Languages: English (N), Norwegian (~C1/C2), Spanish (B1/B2), German (A2/B1?), Japanese (very rusty)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=11484

Re: A Beginner Needs Help in Where to Start for Learning Italian!

Postby Brun Ugle » Sat Jul 06, 2019 6:24 am

Hi! Welcome to the forum! You’ve come to the right place. You’ll find lots of support and advice here throughout your language-learning journey. It’s a very supportive and friendly place. Unfortunately, I can’t advise you on Italian since I’ve never studied it, but there are loads of people here who have and I’m sure a few of them will be along any moment. In the meantime, let me suggest you read Iguanamon’s blog article on the multi-track approach, the Italian resources thread, and the Italian study group.