Is Pimsleur Korean Edition 1 too out of date?

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
JimmyJ
Languages: English
Korean (beginner)

Is Pimsleur Korean Edition 1 too out of date?

Postby JimmyJ » Tue Mar 05, 2019 9:06 pm

Hi,
My name is Jimmy from England and I am a complete beginner to language learning. I've found your website via google so was hoping for some advice if I may please?

I've decided to study Korean with a view to visit at the end of the year, and my Mother has kindly bought me a CD version of Pimsleur Korean edition one (2004) as a surprise.
This was very good of her, but I've read that this version of Pimsleur Korean teaches people to speak in far too polite and old fashioned a manner?

Edition 2 (2016) apparently addresses those concerns and fully updates the way it teaches the language

I dont want to upset my Mum by asking her to send edition 1 back, so may I ask please that if I use edition 1 to study Korean would it set me back as much as others say on my path to speaking conversational Korean? Or would you advise me to purchase edition 2 instead?

Thanks,
Jimmy
PS I have also ordered Korean from Zero as a textbook so Pimsleur wont be my only Korean learning resource
2 x

rdearman
Site Admin
Languages: English (N)
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1836

Re: Is Pimsleur Korean Edition 1 too out of date?

Postby rdearman » Tue Mar 05, 2019 9:32 pm

Hi Jimmy,

Welcome to the forum. There are some other Korean resources listed here: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 466#p65393
and we have a Korean study group here: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... =26&t=9842

I wouldn't worry about the Pimsleur version you're using too much. Can it ever hurt to be too polite? I'm sure as your language learning journey progresses you'll make adjustments later for any minor old-fashioned usage. (Caveat here is I am not learning Korean)
0 x
: 26 / 150 Read 150 books in 2024

My YouTube Channel