Help using FFmpeg

Discuss technical problems and features here
User avatar
astromule
Green Belt
Posts: 434
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 12:51 am
Location: Argentina
Languages: Spanish (N), English (C2), French, Portuguese, Italian, Norwegian, Swedish, Danish, German, Russian
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=794&start=240
x 281

Help using FFmpeg

Postby astromule » Sun Aug 02, 2015 6:59 pm

Hi! As there are many programmers here, I wanted to ask a question:

I want to upload an audio only file to youtube, but I've seen that YT needs that you put at least a backround picture. I was trying to solve this using FFmpeg, http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/3-ways-add ... t-youtube/

The code is

$ ffmpeg -loop 1 -r 2 -i image.jpg -i input.mp3 -vf scale=-1:380 -c:v libx264 -preset slow \ -tune stillimage -crf 18 -c:a copy -shortest -pix_fmt yuv420p -threads 0 output.mkv

I've tried to do it, but I receive this message http://i.imgur.com/kcdbZ4I.jpg

I have a picture (lago.jpg) on the same folder where I have the ffmpeg.exe. I also have "01.mp3", the audio file that I'd like to merge with the picture.
I have accessed the program using the "cmd" of Windows. There I've written the code from up there, without the "$". That is, I've written

$ ffmpeg -loop 1 -r 2 -i lago.jpg -i 01.mp3 -vf scale=-1:380 -c:v libx264 -preset slow \ -tune stillimage -crf 18 -c:a copy -shortest -pix_fmt yuv420p -threads 0 output.mkv

What am I doing wrong and how can I solve this?

Thanks in advance.

Astromule.
0 x

User avatar
daegga
Blue Belt
Posts: 562
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 12:00 am
Location: Upper Austria
Languages: Bavarian (spoken), German
-- ≥ C1 passive --
English (IELTS 8.5)
Scandinavian (a: N>D>S)
-- along the way --
French, Italian
-- can read with dict --
Old Norse
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=17055
x 960
Contact:

Re: Help using FFmpeg

Postby daegga » Sun Aug 02, 2015 7:22 pm

astromule wrote:$ ffmpeg -loop 1 -r 2 -i image.jpg -i input.mp3 -vf scale=-1:380 -c:v libx264 -preset slow \ -tune stillimage -crf 18 -c:a copy -shortest -pix_fmt yuv420p -threads 0 output.mkv


Get rid of that backslash between "slow" and "-tune"?
1 x
jag nöjer mig med tystnad

User avatar
rdearman
Site Admin
Posts: 7252
Joined: Thu May 14, 2015 4:18 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Languages: English (N)
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1836
x 23241
Contact:

Re: Help using FFmpeg

Postby rdearman » Sun Aug 02, 2015 8:08 pm

On my linux box I get the "Unable to find a suitable output format for ' -tune' and -tune is an invalid argument" this is because of the backslash. Which the backslash removed it works no problem.
1 x
: 0 / 150 Read 150 books in 2024

My YouTube Channel
The Autodidactic Podcast
My Author's Newsletter

I post on this forum with mobile devices, so excuse short msgs and typos.

User avatar
astromule
Green Belt
Posts: 434
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 12:51 am
Location: Argentina
Languages: Spanish (N), English (C2), French, Portuguese, Italian, Norwegian, Swedish, Danish, German, Russian
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=794&start=240
x 281

Re: Help using FFmpeg

Postby astromule » Mon Aug 03, 2015 12:25 am

Thanks to both of you! :) But now it seems that I have a new problem: http://i.imgur.com/saxysMb.jpg

rdearman wrote:On my linux box I get the "Unable to find a suitable output format for ' -tune' and -tune is an invalid argument" this is because of the backslash. Which the backslash removed it works no problem.
0 x

User avatar
daegga
Blue Belt
Posts: 562
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 12:00 am
Location: Upper Austria
Languages: Bavarian (spoken), German
-- ≥ C1 passive --
English (IELTS 8.5)
Scandinavian (a: N>D>S)
-- along the way --
French, Italian
-- can read with dict --
Old Norse
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=17055
x 960
Contact:

Re: Help using FFmpeg

Postby daegga » Mon Aug 03, 2015 11:15 am

Instead of "scale=-1:380" try "scale=506:380". Seems like the codec wants even numbers.
1 x
jag nöjer mig med tystnad

User avatar
astromule
Green Belt
Posts: 434
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 12:51 am
Location: Argentina
Languages: Spanish (N), English (C2), French, Portuguese, Italian, Norwegian, Swedish, Danish, German, Russian
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=794&start=240
x 281

Re: Help using FFmpeg

Postby astromule » Mon Aug 03, 2015 11:48 pm

Yes! It worked! Thank you!! :)

daegga wrote:Instead of "scale=-1:380" try "scale=506:380". Seems like the codec wants even numbers.
0 x


Return to “Technical Support and Feature Requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests