Developers & devops: An introduction thread

Discuss technical problems and features here
emk
Black Belt - 1st Dan
Languages: English (N), French (B2+)
Badly neglected "just for fun" languages: Middle Egyptian, Spanish.
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=723

Developers & devops: An introduction thread

Postby emk » Fri Jul 24, 2015 5:47 pm

We have lots of people offering excellent technical advice here, but I'm having trouble keeping track of who's proposing what. :-) How would people feel about an "introductions" thread for the more technical members of the forum?

Personally, I'm a software developer with a side in devops. My devops experience has lately all been cloud based, with lots of Docker and a number of SaaS providers. I also work a lot with continuous deployment servers that can turn source code commits into actual running code, with automatic testing but no human intervention. I run one Heroku-based language-learning app (in private beta) that I'm planning to migrate to containers on an EC2 server at some point.

In the short term, I'm happy to help rdearman tweak this site, and to help him figure out what we need to do to meet our scalability and reliability goals. In the long run, if we end up moving off the original forum software, I'd love to have a public GitHub repository with the site's source code so that anybody can propose changes as pull requests, or test out ideas for plugins locally.

There's no obligation to talk about your professional background, of course, but you're welcome to do so!
1 x

rdearman
Site Admin
Languages: English (N)
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1836

Re: Developers & devops: An introduction thread

Postby rdearman » Fri Jul 24, 2015 6:33 pm