Am I supposed to list my languages in my profile somewhere?

Discuss technical problems and features here
User avatar
Brun Ugle
Black Belt - 2nd Dan
Posts: 2273
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2015 12:48 pm
Location: Steinkjer, Norway
Languages: English (N), Norwegian (~C1/C2), Spanish (B1/B2), German (A2/B1?), Japanese (very rusty)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=11484
x 5823
Contact:

Re: Am I supposed to list my languages in my profile somewhere?

Postby Brun Ugle » Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:07 pm

smallwhite wrote:If "Forum Rules" says "All posts should be in English", can I request profiles to be in English instead of in

ภาษาไทย 日本語 العَرَبِيَّة‎‎ Tiếng Việt 中文 ελληνικά 한국어 svenska հայերեն
or
en fr it de es zh jp ru pt / eng lat fra spa kor rus jpn

? 'Cos that's as incomprehensible as using national flags which we have (fortunately) ruled out.


I actually don't mind the use of foreign names, but I can understand that it could be confusing, especially for the less common ones. Full names are ideal, I don't find the official abbreviations to be such a problem if someone needs to use them due to lack of space. Some people here have an impressive list of languages and maybe they have trouble fitting them all in.
1 x

User avatar
NIKOLIĆ
Orange Belt
Posts: 219
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 11:11 pm
Location: Banat, Serbia.
Languages: Speaks: Cрпски (N), English, Română.
Learning: Italiano, Magyar, 中文, Levantine Arabic, Русский.
x 351

Re: Am I supposed to list my languages in my profile somewhere?

Postby NIKOLIĆ » Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:13 pm

smallwhite wrote:If "Forum Rules" says "All posts should be in English", can I request profiles to be in English instead of in

ภาษาไทย 日本語 العَرَبِيَّة‎‎ Tiếng Việt 中文 ελληνικά 한국어 svenska հայերեն
or
en fr it de es zh jp ru pt / eng lat fra spa kor rus jpn

? 'Cos that's as incomprehensible as using national flags which we have (fortunately) ruled out.


Nah, it'll look too monotonous. If you really want to know what language somebody speaks, just google it. Over time, you'll be able to recognize all the names and abbreviations. As simple as that.
1 x
How yes no.

User avatar
dylan413
Yellow Belt
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2021 5:58 am
Languages: English (N)
Russian (C2)
Italian (B2)
Ukrainian (B1)
Azeri (A2)
French (A2)
Turkish (A2)
Uzbek (A2)
x 268

Re: Am I supposed to list my languages in my profile somewhere?

Postby dylan413 » Mon Aug 22, 2022 10:06 pm

iguanamon wrote:BUMP. I keep noticing more and more new members who aren't bothering to fill out their profiles. Without context, it makes it difficult to respond to their posts and see from what point they're coming.

Newbies: You may fill out you profile after three posts. Please do this as a courtesy to other forum members.


I have three posts, but the option still isn't there. Has something changed?
0 x

User avatar
rdearman
Site Admin
Posts: 7313
Joined: Thu May 14, 2015 4:18 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Languages: English (N)
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1836
x 23575
Contact:

Re: Am I supposed to list my languages in my profile somewhere?

Postby rdearman » Tue Aug 23, 2022 5:43 am

It isn't the number of posts it's the number of approved posts. Also that option for filling in your languages was available when you signed up to the forum. :D

You should have enough approved posts now.
1 x
: 56 / 150 Read 150 books in 2024

My YouTube Channel
The Autodidactic Podcast
My Author's Newsletter

I post on this forum with mobile devices, so excuse short msgs and typos.

User avatar
anitarrc
Orange Belt
Posts: 174
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2022 10:10 am
Location: Luxembourg
Languages: Moved around... English + German + Spanish + Dutch + French + Portuguese
used daily
Catalá Russian Serbian: struggling but improving. Bahasa..needs refreshment
x 305
Contact:

Re: Am I supposed to list my languages in my profile somewhere?

Postby anitarrc » Tue Aug 23, 2022 12:19 pm

smallwhite wrote:If "Forum Rules" says "All posts should be in English", can I request profiles to be in English instead of in

ภาษาไทย 日本語 العَرَبِيَّة‎‎ Tiếng Việt 中文 ελληνικά 한국어 svenska հայերեն
or
en fr it de es zh jp ru pt / eng lat fra spa kor rus jpn

? 'Cos that's as incomprehensible as using national flags which we have (fortunately) ruled out.


Whoever has that upper line in their profile deserve my full, stellar admiration. :) :D I had to google armenian but then I learned something today.
Further, my boss would like to talk to you -> you have a very decent chance to get hired here.

The lower line is exactly what we use here at work to distinguish source and target languages.
The more, the merrier!
1 x

jimmy
Green Belt
Posts: 445
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 6:08 pm
Languages: I am a Polyglot.
x 196

Re: Am I supposed to list my languages in my profile somewhere?

Postby jimmy » Thu Mar 09, 2023 6:36 pm

Hi,

NOTIFICATION:

I think I had better hide some information on my profile.
sorry for the case.
moderation can get in touch with me if needed, of course.

Thanks for understanding.
0 x
Autodidactic - Polyglot - Rational


Return to “Technical Support and Feature Requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests