Am I supposed to list my languages in my profile somewhere?

Discuss technical problems and features here
TiglathPileser3
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 5:22 pm
Location: Omaha, NE
Languages: American English (N), German (advanced), French (intermediate)
x 6

Am I supposed to list my languages in my profile somewhere?

Postby TiglathPileser3 » Mon Mar 07, 2016 5:42 pm

My languages are American English (native), German (advanced 2nd language), French (intermediate), and Swiss-German (a little). Am I supposed to list this in my profile somewhere?
1 x

sillygoose1
Green Belt
Posts: 256
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 6:25 pm
Location: USA
Languages: Languages: (N) English, (C2) French, (C1) Italian/Spanish, (B2) German, (B1) Portuguese, (A2) Russian
Studying: Danish, Swedish, Norwegian Dutch, Polish
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=751
x 348

Re: Am I supposed to list my languages in my profile somewhere?

Postby sillygoose1 » Mon Mar 07, 2016 6:08 pm

You can if you want to, but no one is going to force you to (that I'm aware of :P).
3 x

User avatar
Elenia
Brown Belt
Posts: 1366
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 1:22 am
Location: London
Languages: English (N), Swedish (???), French (Massively Atrophied) German (lowly beginner, somehow learnt to read)


Finnish?!
Language Log: viewtopic.php?t=708
x 1817
Contact:

Re: Am I supposed to list my languages in my profile somewhere?

Postby Elenia » Mon Mar 07, 2016 6:10 pm

You can if you want to, but it's not mandatory. You have your three approved posts, so you will be able to edit your profile. Simply click on your username (should be in the upper right hand corner of the screen), User Account Control and then the 'Profile' tab.
2 x

Online
User avatar
iguanamon
Blue Belt
Posts: 930
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 11:14 am
Location: Virgin Islands
Languages: Speaks: English (Native); Spanish (C2); Portuguese (C2); Haitian Creole (C1); Ladino (C1); Lesser Antilles French Creole (B2)
Language Log: viewtopic.php?t=797
x 3630

Re: Am I supposed to list my languages in my profile somewhere?

Postby iguanamon » Mon Mar 07, 2016 6:49 pm

There is no requirement but it is a big courtesy to other forum members and can give your posts more weight when commenting or posting. Filling out your language profile can also help others to help you better.
7 x

Online
User avatar
iguanamon
Blue Belt
Posts: 930
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 11:14 am
Location: Virgin Islands
Languages: Speaks: English (Native); Spanish (C2); Portuguese (C2); Haitian Creole (C1); Ladino (C1); Lesser Antilles French Creole (B2)
Language Log: viewtopic.php?t=797
x 3630

Re: Am I supposed to list my languages in my profile somewhere?

Postby iguanamon » Thu Mar 17, 2016 11:22 am

BUMP. I keep noticing more and more new members who aren't bothering to fill out their profiles. Without context, it makes it difficult to respond to their posts and see from what point they're coming.

Newbies: You may fill out you profile after three posts. Please do this as a courtesy to other forum members.
11 x

User avatar
tommus
Green Belt
Posts: 314
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 3:59 pm
Location: Kingston, ON, Canada
Languages: English (N), French (B2), Dutch (B2), German (A1), Spanish (A1), Esperanto (A1)
x 532

Re: Am I supposed to list my languages in my profile somewhere?

Postby tommus » Thu Mar 17, 2016 1:37 pm

iguanamon wrote:Please do this as a courtesy to other forum members.

I totally agree. I find that many of the more interesting postings and questions come from new members or other members who have no profile at all. I often look at the profile to further understand the posting, and am often disappointed to see nothing. As a minimum, it would be good to have at least the country and the native language, and preferably at least the main target language. It would improve the quality of the forum, and probably would improve the quality and chance of a reply to questions.
4 x
Dutch
40 Boeken
● 35 Ned. Videos
● 370 Univ-Nederland
: 23 / 40
: 30 / 35
: 145 / 370
● 730 Video Nieuws
● 104 Skype NL Chats
● 730 Tekst Nieuws
: 480 / 730
: 66 / 104
: 480 / 730

annie25
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 8:00 pm
Location: UK
Languages: English (N), French (basic conversational), Italian (basic conversational), Swedish (beginner, studying now)
x 4

Re: Am I supposed to list my languages in my profile somewhere?

Postby annie25 » Wed Mar 30, 2016 8:06 pm

This would be a good thing to add to the FAQ. I just spent a good few minutes going back and forth trying to find where to add languages!
0 x

User avatar
rdearman
Site Admin
Posts: 2232
Joined: Thu May 14, 2015 4:18 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Languages: English (N)
French (studies), Italian (studies), Mandarin (studies),
Esperanto TAC (Only god knows why), Finnish (only in it for the cookies)
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1836
x 4417
Contact:

Re: Am I supposed to list my languages in my profile somewhere?

Postby rdearman » Wed Mar 30, 2016 8:24 pm

annie25 wrote:This would be a good thing to add to the FAQ. I just spent a good few minutes going back and forth trying to find where to add languages!

FAQ question number 2

viewtopic.php?f=25&t=1792
0 x

annie25
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 8:00 pm
Location: UK
Languages: English (N), French (basic conversational), Italian (basic conversational), Swedish (beginner, studying now)
x 4

Re: Am I supposed to list my languages in my profile somewhere?

Postby annie25 » Wed Mar 30, 2016 8:32 pm

rdearman wrote:
annie25 wrote:This would be a good thing to add to the FAQ. I just spent a good few minutes going back and forth trying to find where to add languages!

FAQ question number 2

viewtopic.php?f=25&t=1792


Thanks for the link - I did figure that out within seconds of my previous post! Sorry. :oops:
What I should have written is, that for dippy folk like me who are scanning the FAQ looking for the word 'languages' and not absorbing the words in front of us, something along the lines of "Why can't I amend my profile or add my languages?" would have been most helpful... :D
0 x

Online
User avatar
iguanamon
Blue Belt
Posts: 930
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 11:14 am
Location: Virgin Islands
Languages: Speaks: English (Native); Spanish (C2); Portuguese (C2); Haitian Creole (C1); Ladino (C1); Lesser Antilles French Creole (B2)
Language Log: viewtopic.php?t=797
x 3630

Re: Am I supposed to list my languages in my profile somewhere?

Postby iguanamon » Mon May 09, 2016 3:34 pm

BUMP AGAIN!!!

OK, the problem is becoming more and more common now. Most new users are not bothering to fill out their profiles at all. This makes it difficult to respond to their posts because the normal incomplete information is now even more incomplete! We should look into allowing new members to fill out their profiles upon joining. We'll still be able to detect spam. If that isn't possible, perhaps an automated message after their third post reminding them to do this.

This is really starting to get frustrating. I don't really see this as a privacy issue. It just helps more experienced members to give better responses. Maybe we need to go back to a "Speaks" & "Studies" column like we had on HTLAL. I can't make sense out of a profile that reads:
"Languages: English, French, Italian". What does this mean? Do you speak English natively? Do you speak French and Italian or are you just studying them?

NEWBIES:
After you reach three posts you may fill out your profiles. PLEASE do this so we can better help you. It's a courtesy to everyone else here who want to help you. If I don't know what your language-learning experience is, it's hard for me to taylor my advice. I don't want to be giving an experienced learner advice I would give to a neophyte beginner and vice versa.

SENIOR MEMBERS: it would also be nice if you would do this too- at least for languages, not necessarily your location . I understand some of you don't want to list your native-languages for whatever reason- some fear discrimination or typecasting. Some seem to portray themselves as experts on language-learning and yet- nothing about what languages they've learned to a high level, studied or anything. Of course, long-time members know some of their experience from years on the forum, but newer members will not have that advantage. How could it hurt to tell us about your language-learning experience upon which you base your opinions? Of course, I realize that some will simply not do this, no matter. Still, please consider doing it. It's a courtesy to everyone else and tends to give your posts more weight.
6 x


Return to “Technical Support and Feature Requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: iguanamon and 1 guest