Neurotip 2020: Greek, Icelandic, things like that

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
Neurotip
Green Belt
Languages: eng N; ita & fra B2+, ell & deu B2-, ísl B1 (spa & swe A2?)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... =15&t=9850

Neurotip 2020: Greek, Icelandic, things like that

Postby Neurotip » Mon Dec 31, 2018 5:05 pm

Welcome to my new log! (link to the old one for reference...)

Log post 1: Plans

Greek - where I am now
I'm definitely a false beginner with Greek, in two distinct ways. Firstly, I can read Greek aloud reasonably accurately - I'm comfortable with the alphabet and I know something about the pronunciation. Secondly, as an etymologically-inclined medical doctor, I have a decent vocabulary of Greek roots in technical English. Just for fun I took the Dialang placement test (a brief vocabulary test based on classifying items into real words vs nonwords) and scored 386 with the comment: 'People who score at this level have a limited vocabulary which may be sufficient for ordinary day-to-day purposes' - which is amusing as my productive vocabulary probably doesn't top 20 words. Let's just say I have a significant discount on the vocab.

Funnily enough Icelandic gives me a bit of a pronunciation discount on Greek too; both languages have voiced and unvoiced fricatives (and stops) at both velar and palatal places, even with some parallels in spelling.

Greek - goal for 2019
I'd like to get my Greek to the same level as my Icelandic (is now, i.e. solid A2, nosing into B1) by the end of 2019 - this is more ambitious than my goal for Isl was, as I was significantly further ahead with Isl this time last year than I am now with Greek, but I was working on Italian as well in 2018. In total I think I managed 250 hours or so during 2018, and if I can keep this up then it should be achievable. Indeed who knows, Greek may turn out to be easier than Icelandic!