Purangi's Log

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
Purangi
Orange Belt
Languages: French, English, Mandarin, Russian, Spanish

Purangi's Log

Postby Purangi » Mon Nov 26, 2018 6:31 am

Hello everyone!

Over the course of 2019, I have decided to dabble in two languages of the Caribbean region: Haitian Creole and Papiamentu. While doing so, I also plan to continue working on my Spanish to eventually bring it to the next level.

This journey that will be both challenging but, I am sure, very rewarding!

First, a little bit about me:

– My native language is French, the language I speak with my family and in which I was educated. Although I was exposed to English from a young age (through TV), I only learned to speak and write later in high school.

– As an undergrad, I developed interest for Russian, and ended up learning the language to an advanced level and spending two years in Russia. That was around 10 years ago – so while I can still read Russian fluently, my speaking abilities are not what they used to be. I do not try to maintain the language other than by reading novels occasionally (I did enjoy Чёрный город and Не прощаюсь) or conversing when travelling in CIS countries.

– After Russia, I turned my attention to China and Mandarin. I moved to the PRC about six years ago, where I now work as a French-Mandarin translator. Mandarin is part of my daily life, so I maintain it automatically just by going to work. I taught myself traditional characters over the past year (that was long overdue) and try to read interesting materials (i.e. non-PRC materials) daily to keep them fresh in my memory.