Cam's Language Log

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
cameroncrc
White Belt
Languages: English (N), Japanese (Fluent), Ukrainian (Beginner)

Cam's Language Log

Postby cameroncrc » Thu Nov 15, 2018 1:37 pm

Hello everyone! I'm Cameron and I was a active on HTLAL for some time during high school, before and after completing a one-year exchange program in rural Japan. I'm now back in Japan (in the city this time), where I've been working in marketing for the past two years.

I've been making slow and steady progress on a number of personal goals, including language learning. I was looking for a way to visualize my progress over time, so I decided to start this language learning log.

So without further to do, here are some of my language learning goals for the coming year!

Ukrainian
I have been wanting to learn Ukrainian for a very long time. My great grandparents were born and raised in Ukraine before coming to the U.S. in the early 1900s. They didn't really pass down the language or culture, which made me curious to learn more. I originally set out to learn Ukrainian to reconnect to my heritage. But as I started learning, I realized how much I love the sound of it, the writing system, and the friendly and open attitude my Ukrainian friends had towards me trying to learn their language. I would love to travel to Ukraine soon, but first I want to gain some conversational skills. The resources I am using for Ukrainian are "Beginner's Ukrainian" by Yuri Shevchuk (Hippocrene) and a Japanese-language introductory text on Ukrainian grammar (yay laddering!)

Japanese