Hekje learns Dutch, Indonesian, French

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
Hekje
Languages: N: English
Learning: Dutch (intermediate), Spanish (beginner)
Backburner: French, Indonesian (beginner)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... f=15&t=905

Hekje learns Dutch, Indonesian, French

Postby Hekje » Thu Jul 30, 2015 12:26 am

***October 2019 - Updated after a hiatus***

Hello! Welcome to my log!

About Me: I'm 27 and live in Brooklyn, New York. I work in the arts/entertainment and have always been interested in languages as a side hobby. Years ago, I was somewhat active on the old HTLAL forum, and credit that original community of learners for helping me learn Dutch from scratch. I enjoy drawing, hiking, camping, traveling (who doesn’t, I guess?) and have visited all 7 continents, including Antarctica.

:arrow:

My language learning history:

2003-2009: French was my first language interest. I studied it throughout middle school and high school. My mildly decent career in French culminated with sitting for the International Baccalaureate Higher Level exam, where I scored a 6 out of 7. Not bad! I was probably about a B2 then. Since high school, I haven't had much to do with French and it's gotten quite rusty. I still have delusional notions of dusting it off and bringing it back up to scratch.