Learning Spanish in Colombia

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
ZanePrime
Languages: German (N), English (C2), Spanish (A2-B1), Mandarin Chinese (A1)

Learning Spanish in Colombia

Postby ZanePrime » Mon Aug 20, 2018 12:42 am

Hey guys,

I have been a quiet reader on this forum for quite a while now and finally decided to start my own log to track my progress and to hold myself accountable.

About myself:

I am 23 years old, from Germany and I am currently studying for my master’s in financial mathematics. Normally, I am studying in Germany, but I just arrived in Colombia to study here for one semester. Hence, my focus with respect to language learning will be on Spanish for the next few months.
Nonetheless, I would like to give a brief overview of my language learning experience.

English: I started studying English in third grade and I also spent one year abroad in the U.S. while I was in high school. Most of my courses in university are taught in English as well and I’m used to watching TV series in English. Thus, I would consider myself to be fluent in English. However, I could work some more on my active skills and might try to read some English news articles etc. in the future to expand my vocabulary.

Spanish: I studied Spanish for five years during high school. I pretty much stopped studying it after eleventh grade but started a few months ago to refresh my knowledge and like I said before, will focus a lot on learning Spanish in the next few months. As I will spend the next few months in Colombia, I also have the perfect conditions to improve my Spanish. I would say my Spanish is currently in between A2 and B1.

French: I studied French for five years in high school but didn’t study anymore French for more than six years already. I’m still able to read some French texts, but my active skills are very bad and improving my French has no priority at the moment.