Sandía Struggles with Spanish

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
Sandía
White Belt
Languages: English (N); Spanish

Sandía Struggles with Spanish

Postby Sandía » Mon Aug 13, 2018 7:49 am

Hello everyone! I am Sandía (because a Spanish speaker once told me my name sounded like the Spanish word for watermelon), and I am currently learning Spanish. I have been following this forum off and on for a few years now, and I have finally created my own log.

I started learning Spanish about three years ago, and I made it to a lower intermediate in reading, advanced beginner in everything else, in about a year of Spanish study. I then stopped studying anything related to the language for about two years, and now I am trying to start again. I live in the United States in an area where Spanish is very commonly spoken, and I work in healthcare, so the language is very useful for me to know.

I am finding getting back into Spanish both easier and more difficult than I expected. Easier because so much is coming back to me so quickly, harder because I am having to start from scratch in a lot of things. I really wish I had kept my last Spanish learning adventure going, because I would be a lot further along, but nothing I can do about it now. As it is, my Spanish, though at the level a one or two year old would speak, is VERY useful at work.

Current Study Plan:
Grammar: Kwiziq.com, which I have paid for three months. This was very expensive, but I think it will be good for me. It is easier for me to pull up a website and learn grammar than it is to pull out a book, especially at the lower levels where I have learned most of this before and just need a review. I am also using Conjuguemos.com and the app Conjugación to drill verb tenses.