I fail words -- devilyoudont's Japanese & Esperanto log

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
devilyoudont
Blue Belt
Languages: EN (N), EO (C), JA (B), ES (A)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=16424

I fail words -- devilyoudont's Japanese & Esperanto log

Postby devilyoudont » Tue Jun 26, 2018 2:37 am

Jump to 2019 resolutions

Hello

I'm hoping to keep a language log here basically as a way to track my progress, and to keep myself accountable.
I hope to update three times a week, once for each language. I'll post updates after I complete my study of a particular language for the week.

Japanese:
I started learning Japanese because I lived there as an exchange student. I really fell in love with the language, but after I left I lost a lot of my ability. I started studying again a few years ago. I think that I am low intermediate. My goal is to spend Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday studying Japanese. I only know around 1000 kanji, having burnt myself out on kanji study multiple times.

Spanish:
I live in a city with a decent sized Spanish population, so I would really love to learn Spanish. I'm basically a beginner. I've tried to start learning Spanish several times, but invariably get burned out. For me, beginner resources are difficult in any language due to sheer boredom over the study material. Spanish verb forms are also intimidating for me. I'm hoping that I've accumulated enough vocabulary at this point to be able to start reading things, but am not completely opposed to continuing the Duolingo tree. I plan to study Spanish on Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday.

Esperanto: