Kimchizzle's Spanish, French, Dutch and other adventures

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
kimchizzle
Orange Belt
Languages: English (N), French
Studying Spanish, Dutch, Russian
On the radar, Estonian, Ukrainian, Cantonese, Korean, Swedish
Language Log: http://how-to-learn-any-language.org/vi ... f=15&t=779

Kimchizzle's Spanish, French, Dutch and other adventures

Postby kimchizzle » Wed Jul 22, 2015 12:10 am

I'm going to post my Russian log here from HTLAL.

07/17/2015

I started learning Russian a month ago. I'm creating this log to begin and try to keep track of my personal progress so that I can see how far I have came.

Current method:

Listening and Reading texts, using the Learning with Texts program.

Currently I'm studying about 2 hours a day, 5 days a week and a little less each day on the weekends.

Goals:

To be able to listen and read news broadcasts, Russian politics, historical documentaries and also music and movies or tv shows.

Whatever basic things I learn to speak and learn along the way is ok, but speaking will not be a focus.

Writing and typing will not be worked on at all.

Lately I've been doing a lesson series I found on a website and transferred it to learning with texts. The lessons are very good and designed for learning with texts, but I've begun to get bored of the slow pace, even though my progress has been good.

Currently I can recognize past and future tense, adjective-noun agreement, and starting to understand patterns of cases.

I recently found this podcast series, http://russianpodcast.eu/podcasts.html and I plan to soon add the podcasts to the learning with texts program. I don't plan on going in order but rather, just finding topics I like. The podcasts are considerably more input than the current lessons and I have a good enough foundation I think I won't get lost very much in lots of things I don't understand.

07/18

Russian