An opera fan's log - French, German, Italian, etc

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
Deinonysus
Brown Belt
Languages:  
• Native: English
• Advanced: French
• Intermediate: German,
   Spanish, Hebrew
• Beginner: Italian,
   Arabic

An opera fan's log - French, German, Italian, etc

Postby Deinonysus » Sat Jan 20, 2018 3:42 am

Background

My initial reason for getting into languages was that I love opera and classical songs (mainly Lieder and mélodies). I'm a classically trained singer and I've sung in German, Italian, French, and Latin, and also a little bit in other languages. When I was in college studying music over a decade ago, I couldn't understand much of what I was singing. In 2014, I finally did something about it: I started learning German, and then French as well. I'm now conversational in both. I've also dabbled in other languages but haven't reached a very high level.

My main impetus was to learn the languages of opera. I would classify these as:

Major languages: Italian, French, German
Secondary languages: English, Russian
Minor languages: Czech, Latin, Hungarian, Spanish, with obscure works by major composers in others such as Danish and Polish.

Not all of these languages are high up on my priority list, but I definitely want to "finish off" the major languages soon (within the next few years). As for secondary languages, I've barely touched Russian so far, but I'm lucky enough that I got English for free! And I have only looked at a couple of the "Minor languages".

These aren't the only languages I'm interested in. Some other languages I have studied at a basic level: