2018 language log - Arabic and Spanish

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
auntie mildred
White Belt
Languages: English (N), Arabic - MSA (intermediate-ish), Spanish (B1)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... =15&t=7509

2018 language log - Arabic and Spanish

Postby auntie mildred » Mon Jan 08, 2018 11:37 am

So, after lurking for the past few months I've bitten the bullet and created an account and a log (first post!), mainly because I wanted to join the Super Challenge but also to try and get something approaching consistency with my language learning.

Arabic
I have been learning Arabic on and (very) off for over 10 years after falling into it at uni. I spent 6 months in Yemen in 2004 doing an intensive course which probably got me up to upper-intermediate level in Modern Standard Arabic (MSA), but then did almost nothing until 2016 when I started taking classes again. I've supplemented this with some ANKI vocab work and a lot of iTalki conversation classes in both MSA (not the most useful, I know...) and Levantine dialect over the last couple of years, but its been pretty scattershot and there's still massive gaps in my knowledge.
This year I've decided to pull my finger out and actually try and focus on it properly, which for the time being means limiting things to MSA only - I got horribly confused trying to do MSA and a dialect at the same time, so Levantine's being parked til next year. My strategy is to learn a little bit at a time really well rather than try and cram a whole lot of stuff at once (which I also tried to do last year), because unlike Spanish I find it much harder to retain Arabic because of how different the vocab and structures are to English.

Spanish