rfnsoares' log PT, EN, FR, ES, IT, RO, RU, PL, GR, DE and much more

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
rfnsoares
Orange Belt
Languages: Native: Portuguese
B2/C1: English, French, Italian, Spanish and Russian
A2/B1: Romanian, German
A2: Polish, Greek, Hungarian
Dabbling: Croatian, Czech, Swedish, Norwegian, Lithuanian, Finnish, Turkish, Hebrew...

rfnsoares' log PT, EN, FR, ES, IT, RO, RU, PL, GR, DE and much more

Postby rfnsoares » Tue Jan 02, 2018 2:55 pm

Hi everyone!
This is my first log on the forum. I’ve been postponing it for a long time. My goals are to improve my writing English skills and have my language-related adventures documented. I recently took part in the 6WC and I was amazed by the amount of the hours spent learning a language. I had subscribed for Greek by the way. Therefore I’d like to track my progress using this log.
Well, I’ve been learning languages since I was 8-9 years old. I don’t remember exactly. Back then I started learning Spanish. This was in the pre-internet era, in the mid 80’s. For those who lived or have lived in Brazil at the time might know a very popular audio course – Curso de Idiomas Globo. They provided language courses for Spanish, Italian, German, French and also English. The English course was completely different from the other ones. There were 72 lessons split in six sessions each. I was very fond of the course format (and I still am). Years later I used it to learn French, Italian and German, but I didn’t finish it the German one.
As I said I’ve been studying languages since my childhood. So far I have studied seriously English, French, Spanish, Italian, Romanian, Greek, German, Russian and now in 2018 I’m learning Polish. Polish will be my main language in 2018. Of course I’ve dabbled in many others. :oops: