unrelatedwaffle's language log

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
unrelatedwaffle
White Belt
Languages: English (N), French (High advanced; 22 years of study), Japanese (studying for N1 JLPT), Spanish (beginner)

unrelatedwaffle's language log

Postby unrelatedwaffle » Tue Oct 31, 2017 4:39 pm

I'm extremely happy to have found this forum. No one I know in my life is as enthusiastic about language learning as I am, and it can get pretty lonely. I'm inspired by everyone else's ambitious logs and would like to put some of my goals and practices in a log as well.

I've been learning both French and Japanese since about age 12 (18 years now!). I spent high school and college learning French in school, and went to graduate school for French linguistics, so my French is very academic and though I can read almost anything with about 85% comprehension, my listening comprehension is quite poor. I spent a summer in Montreal while doing dissertation research and it's a place I consider moving long-term, so I'm especially interested in Québécois.

My top goals for French are
*read all of the French novels I have in my backlog (I buy a lot at Half Price books and then dilly-dally on reading them), adding new vocab to Anki from my notebook
*learn tons of vocabulary, including idioms and slang
*improve listening comprehension by watching YouTube videos that have target-language subtitles and doing lyricstraining.com regularly
*Work through Le québécois en dix leçons by Alexandre Coutu