WP's Log - Arabic, French, Kurdish - The Last Year of Languages!

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
woodpecker
Languages: English (N), Arabic (C1), French, Kurdish
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... =15&t=6767

WP's Log - Arabic, French, Kurdish - The Last Year of Languages!

Postby woodpecker » Thu Sep 21, 2017 2:20 pm

Welcome to my log! I was once a very active participant at HTLAL, but I haven't been around much here.

Background
Since 2014, when I graduated undergrad (and became much less active on web forums), I've spent a little over a year on fellowship in Cairo, gotten most of an MA in teaching Arabic as a Foreign Language, and worked teaching Arabic in the eastern US. I've decided that this year will be my last as an Arabic teacher before I head to (non-language) professional school.

I'm fortunate in that my current job is not very demanding, and leaves me with a lot of time for other activities. I'll be using this log to keep myself honest about spending some of this last year of relative freedom on languages. I'll be focusing on three in particular: Arabic, French, and Kurdish. I may throw in a little Spanish in November and December, as I'm headed to Mexico for a few weeks in January.

Arabic - Very Advanced to Even More Advanced
I am now, after close to a decade of study, comfortable calling myself fluent in Arabic--indeed, I teach it for a living. That said, it's an endless endeavor--for instance, I still find most classical texts a huge struggle, though some recent grad school coursework helped me take big strides when dealing with classical prose. Now that the school year has started and summer grad classes are over, I find it's sometimes hard to put in the daily work. Hopefully logging will help with that.

My Arabic studies will comprise the following:
  • Free reading of modern lit / news analysis, some in paper form and some in my "Learning with Texts" database.