Crispin's personal log: French, Russian, and Arabic

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
Crispin
White Belt

Crispin's personal log: French, Russian, and Arabic

Postby Crispin » Wed Mar 09, 2016 3:07 pm

So, I'm a total newbie here, and I'm not entirely sure what I'm doing. I've been passionate about learning languages for a while now, but it's always been something I've kept to myself, because I figured no one else would be interested. I'd really like the chance to talk with other people pursuing polyglot-ism, though, so I've decided to try to keep a language learning log here.

Right now, I'm taking some university French classes (a phonetics class, a conversation class, and a composition class). I've just recently started learning Arabic as well. I'm using "Mastering Arabic" by Jane Wightwick and Mahmoud Gaafar as my primary resource for that, but if anyone has suggestions for further resources, I would be very grateful. My Russian is, sadly being neglected for the time being. I'm trying to read Идиот by Достоевский, but I'm making very slow progress.

I'm going to try to post on here at least once a week. Beyond that, I don't have any set goals, yet; I'll experiment a little and see what works.
4 x

Elenia
Black Belt - 1st Dan
Languages: English (N), Swedish (C1), French (Massively Atrophied) German (lowly beginner, somehow learnt to read)

Finnish?!
Language Log: viewtopic.php?t=708

Re: Crispin's personal log: French, Russian, and Arabic

Postby Elenia » Wed Mar 09, 2016 4:24 pm

Welcome to the forum, Crispin! Good luck in your journey :)
1 x

Monox D. I-Fly
Blue Belt

Postby Monox D. I-Fly » Wed Mar 09, 2016 5:39 pm

Crispin wrote:I've just recently started learning Arabic as well. I'm using "Mastering Arabic" by Jane Wightwick and Mahmoud Gaafar as my primary resource for that, but if anyone has suggestions for further resources, I would be very grateful.