wallflower's Swedish (and only Swedish) log

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
wallflower
White Belt
Languages: English (N)
Swedish (Int.)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=20207

wallflower's Swedish (and only Swedish) log

Postby wallflower » Sat Apr 27, 2024 10:06 pm

Given that I signed up for the 2024-2025 Super Challenge, it seems like starting a language log is the logical next step?

Introductions are awkward, so I'll stick to the main points:

My past: I have some experience with learning French and Spanish through school/university, but most of what I learned is long gone over the years that have passed. Independently I've had attempts at a great many languages, but I won't list them as they were all brief.

My present: Swedish is my long-term project, or pastime I should say, since "project" has too much of a structured vibe. I only work on listening and reading; I have no use for speaking and writing. I've been learning for a few years now, and my current level with the language is "comfortable," or in other words, I can do most of the things I want in the language without a lot of struggle. No real goals, just "keep doing stuff regularly with the language." I guess in that regard, the Super Challenge fits with what I want to do anyway, just puts some numbers to it.

And then there's French. I've described it as short-term in the log title, because I am indifferent towards it and I don't know how long I'll keep it around. I have the Assimil French with Ease course from 2020, and to date I have completed 27/100 lessons. My goal here is to complete 49/100 lessons, and then decide if I'll continue through all 100 or if I'll stop there and say "I gave it a go and it's not for me."

I also dabble in other languages without any goals.

My future: