Arabic through semi-extensive reading

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
thomas_dc
Yellow Belt

Arabic through semi-extensive reading

Postby thomas_dc » Sun Jan 24, 2016 7:39 pm

Edit:
It's been a while since I started this log, and since then I've learned a lot!
I've discovered (wow) that it's quite annoying to go back and edit this first log post every time I make an update, so for the newest statistics and updates, go to the end of the thread!

I'd also like to clarify how I'm studying these days, because it has changed a little bit since the beginning.
I read mostly books, and I read them mostly through LingQ. Their new Ipad app is great and it even is starting to work better with Arabic, even though Arabic basically is not a supported language. If you prefer reading through your browser, you need to kindly ask the support staff to make the "classic view" available for you. They've recently updated their software with a nice new reading-tool, but it shows all Arabic text backwards, so until they get that fixed (which is not a priority to them) you need to use the classic view). LingQ costs money.. I think it's worth it, but I've heard that "learning with texts" is a worthy, free alternative. I don't know how it fares with Arabic though. (There's also something out there called "ReadLang")

I've changed my log-title to "Arabic through semi-extensive reading", because I think that what I do is more a mix between extensive and intensive reading. I'm not yet at a level where I can read without aid from a dictionary, but LingQ's instant look-up feature (and the concept of creating yellow words) is really helpful, and makes for effortless reading.

I've recently started writing a blog too, where I speak about language learning. I'll throw the link in here in case someone would like to have a look:
Language learning blog