merino's log sin límites

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
merino_iceberg
Languages: English (N), Spanish (B1 - B2), Danish (A2)

merino's log sin límites

Postby merino_iceberg » Wed Jan 24, 2024 5:40 am

Hey all, welcome!

I thought I'd jump into the fray here. I'm a false beginner in Spanish, and about a month or two into a major resuscitation effort for the language. I had taken the usual high school Spanish classes, and then over the course of the last year had my interest in learning Spanish, both relearning it and really learning it, revitalized. The sparks were mostly due to a few trips to Mexico, during which I realized how much I was just scraping by in the language, and how inadequate my Spanish skills were for any meaningful communication. I could understand a decent number of words, parse menus and signs, and pigeonspeak my way through basic conversations, but I was pretty far from having any kind of natural or fluid conversation with a native speaker. If I expressed a sentiment, it wasn't with any precision. I'm planning some return trips to Mexico, as well as a more extended stay in Spain this coming year, and wanted to achieve a (let me be vague here) reasonable conversational level before these trips. Longer term, I'd like to push into C1/C2 territory, but I don't have a great sense of how long this will take yet.