Paulista's Log

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
Paulista
White Belt
Languages: Portuguese (N), English (C1), Italian (B1/2), Spanish (~B1)

Paulista's Log

Postby Paulista » Sun Jan 17, 2016 12:22 pm

Hello everyone,

I'm a long-time member of HTAL (2008, I guess?), but never really posted much. I've been learning several languages on and off throughout these years, but the only one I can say that actually improved is my English, which should be around C1 now. My biggest problems have always been motivation and lack of a study routine. I'm a very busy university student, so it's kinda hard to find time to study languages, specially considering I should be working on my thesis right now (instead of posting here :cry: ). This log is an attempt to make me feel bad if I neglect language-learning this year.

Anyway, my main goal this year is reaching ~C1 in Italian. I've been living in Italy since September/15, but will go back to Brazil by the end of February, so I still have ~1 month to enjoy a huge load of native content all the time. Before coming to Italy I would say my Italian was around A2 in active skills and maybe B1 passive.

I've played - can't say I've actually studied - a lot with Italian before 2013, but it was pretty much buried in my brain, as I started learning Spanish in 2014, which totally killed my Italian - I had a hard time separating the languages, so I dropped Italian completely because it "was not as useful". I never really liked Spanish very much, but kept going to the uni's course and reached an acceptable level.