Leviathan's Log - Italian, German

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
Leviathan TQ
White Belt
Languages: English (N)
Actively Learning: German (Est. A1)
Paused: Italian (Est. A2)
Formerly Studied: Spanish (Est. A2/B1, very rusty)
Language Wish List: Dutch, Norwegian, Polish, Mandarin
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 78#p231078

Leviathan's Log - Italian, German

Postby Leviathan TQ » Thu Aug 03, 2023 5:32 pm

Who I am:
Ciao a tutti! :) I am a 23-year-old Sicilian-American living in New England, working as a chemical engineer. Most of my family is Sicilian, although I have Norwegian and Swedish genetics on my grandmother's side, putting me at 75% Sicilian, 12.5% Norwegian, and 12.5% Swedish.

My Language History
In school, I studied Spanish for 10 years, from Grade 1 to Grade 11. At my peak, I was probably at a A2-B1, but have since lost my fluency after attending university and failing to study Spanish for my five-year duration. I am probably at an A1 level now.

In the sixth grade, I became friends with a German exchange student, who graciously allowed me to stay with them for three weeks in Germany. This experience made me fall in love with the German language. While I never took courses or actively attempted to learn the language, I started listening to German music (Santiano and Unheilig being my favorite thus far).

In December 2022, I went to Rome and Florence with my Italian cousin. The experience was so inspiring to me that I immediately enrolled in an Italian I course at university, which rapidly became my favorite course. Unfortunately, it was in my final semester there, so I was unable to continue on to Italian II-IV. After graduation, I landed a job at an Austrian company, which is chock-full of Austrian nationals who speak German. This has reintroduced a practical reason for me to learn German again.

My Language Goals