carloskilos vs. français 

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
carloskilos
Languages: American English (N), Spanish (C1), French (beginner)

carloskilos vs. français 

Postby carloskilos » Mon Jun 05, 2023 3:40 pm

Hola a todxs!

I'm starting this log as while I've learned Spanish to a fairly high level, I began that language at a fairly early age in school, for better or worse. As such, this is my first time properly learning a new language, and I'm hoping this posting in this thread will help clarify all the thoughts/theory that are circulating in my head into a more tangible/coherent praxis.

My language learning thought process has largely been molded by Refold as well as this forum. While I'm certainly not the strawman Krashenite that some on this forum fabricate to rail against, I am a big believer in larger amounts of input, as that was the key that took my Spanish from "cold sweats in speaking situations" to "walk through Spain extremely confident in my ability to communicate", which is my end goal for all languages--to be able to communicate fluently in conversation with locals.

Having stuck a toe in the water of French, I'm struck by the vast ocean that is learning a new language, vs. coming from being able to understand practically everything of spoken Spanish. In particular, it's always seemed interesting to me when listening to a foreign tongue that it's not even possible to decipher the phonemes into written characters, and therefore meaning. However, does "meaning" come from written characters? How do you "know" a word?