Team Me: Foxing around

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
reineke
Black Belt - 2nd Dan
Languages: Fox

Team Me: Foxing around

Postby reineke » Sat Jan 09, 2016 3:45 am

Initially I wrote that I "intend to :idea: refine my language learning methods, develop new ones and learn as much as possible. I'd like to brush up and improve on what I already know..." I edited the title of my previous log to remove any reference to studying. I am not really studying anything. I might learn something along the way but I'm not studying anything.

My languages:

Italian - I acquired Italian thanks to Italian TV channels. My acquisition was rather odd as I was able to follow my favorite programs only during summer months. It dawned on me that I could understand the language after my father challenged me about wasting my time watching something I didn't understand. Later I studied the language formally. Currently my Italian is in a sort of atrophied, mummified state but I have successfully drawn on this knowledge to ease my way into Spanish and Portuguese.

French - learned through very conventional means in the past century ( red & blue Mauger, school, some TV). Some 400 hours in the 2000s? I occasionally read poetry in French. My French feels a lot stronger than it should based on the number of hours I invested in this language. I can only credit Mauger and/or Italian for this.
German - acquired the same way as Italian. I was a bored teenager. Astra had a lot of free-to-air TV channels. I can easily follow TV shows and audiobooks. In 2009? my Dialang score was: listening comprehension C2, vocabulary 820.
German is still a work in progress. I don't feel like guesstimating the number of hours I spent on German-language media.