Rowanexer's log (FR, JP, PT)

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
rowanexer
Yellow Belt
Languages: English (N), Japanese (N2), French (B1), Portuguese (B1)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=19019

Rowanexer's log (FR, JP, PT)

Postby rowanexer » Wed Mar 22, 2023 12:34 am

I've just been getting back into languages again (used to lurk on HTAL back in the day!) and I've been wanting to refresh my current abilities, and start some new languages too.

My main language is Japanese. It was my major at university and I worked and studied in Japan for a few years. But since leaving the country my skills have atrophied a bit, and I'd like to study it more actively. I never got the N1 JLPT certificate (tried it once and was four marks from a pass, which disappointed me so much I didn't want to try again). It's a bit pointless now since I have a degree in Japanese but I think aiming to pass it will help focus my efforts and also improve my professional/academic vocabulary.

Goals:
Pass the N1
Read a novel in Japanese (I've only read manga and short story collections so far)

Resources:
日本語総まとめN1漢字・単語・文法
未来いそっぷ by 星新一 (Aesop short stories with a twist)
NHKニュース

My other language is long dormant French. I studied it for 6 years in high school and studied abroad for 6 months and got to maybe B1 or B2 but in the 10 years since I have barely used it. I've just started getting back into it recently and I've been surprised by how much I remember. I'd like to get some of my level back.

Goals:
Be able to have a conversation in French comfortably
Read a novel in French

Resources:
Assimil Using French
Coursera Etudier en France MOOC
TV5 Apprendre exercises (love this!)
InnerFrench (possibly too easy. There's not much I don't understand in it but it's nice easy listening practice)