Mook's language log

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
mook_wazo
Languages: English (N), French (C1 [Testing Soon]), Spanish (B1 [Estimated]), Mandarin (HSK 2 [Estimated])

Mook's language log

Postby mook_wazo » Mon Mar 20, 2023 5:35 pm

Hi,

Apologies for the long post. This is my first day contributing to the site and I find it interesting to add one's thoughts, experiences, and ambitions to a communal log, so I thought to give it a shot. I am a budding academic linguist who just received his first diploma and a current foreign language teacher and tutor. Here's a brief background and my current study regimen, as well as imminent goals:

I first was introduced to the study of language upon entering high school. As a foreign exchange student, I was able to learn French considerably well (with a fluency or at least faux-fluency that sounded good enough to stump natives; I have since not done very much that impressive!). I maintained the study of French language, literature, and culture, and now teach these to grades 3-8 (ages 8-13).

The next language I spent a great deal of effort studying was Spanish, for its beauty and utility. I studied it intensively in university and can read very well, though my oral comprehension is sub-par these days. I can make myself understood, though not without a degree of envy for my younger self, whose ready reach of the Spanish lexicon had not yet diminished through the passage of time.

A tier lower find themselves languages in which I have what one might describe as a phrasebook's worth of vocabulary. I'm just a touch beyond a walking Berlitz in Mandarin and Toki Pona. I have also made some considerable progress this past month in Russian and am almost able to categorize my control of this language in the same manner.