Fledermaus makes progress

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
Fledermaus
White Belt
Languages: English (N), German (C1), French (B1), Spanish (B1), Italian (intermediate, rusty)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=19001

Fledermaus makes progress

Postby Fledermaus » Thu Mar 16, 2023 10:06 am

I'm writing this log primarily as a day-to-day tracking tool that will motivate me, keep me on track, and show me how much time I'm putting into my languages. Hope it works! ;)

Current state of affairs

I've been learning languages in some way since I was 12 (I'm now 28), when I cluelessly bought myself course and set about learning Spanish. Since then, I've slowly improved my self-study techniques, and have studied a good number of languages to varying levels. This is a list of the ones that matter to me these days.

Spanish

The first language I studied by myself. My level hovers around a B2 on a good day. Chatting to native speakers isn't too hard, and I can understand lots of TV, podcasts and books depending on the subject. If time permits I'd like to practise a little more and expand my vocabulary somewhat, but otherwise I'm quite content with my current level (a happy B2), and don't have strong reasons or motivation to take this language much further, which is fine.

French

French was a school subject where I enjoyed myself but didn't learn tonnes. I came back to it as an adult and have taken interest in French-speaking countries, in particular Switzerland, following a wonderful trip to Geneva. I'm just about B2 and I want to expand my vocabulary and massively improve my listening comprehension when it comes to those rapidly spoken Netflix series.

German