Buranmu's log (Korean)

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
buranmu

Buranmu's log (Korean)

Postby buranmu » Wed Jan 06, 2016 6:24 am

Hello!

Long time reader of the HTLAL forums, first time poster. I'm hoping through this language log I can keep myself a little more accountable.

I've been studying Korean casually for a bit over 2 years and want to make some real progress this year. I've also spent some time with Spanish, Japanese, and Mandarin, but those have all been set aside for a while and will continue to be neglected until I make some more progress in Korean... probably.

Currently I'm not using any textbook to study. I've used several textbooks in the past and generally don't enjoy textbooks very much. For some reason, at least with Korean textbooks, I find the ones aimed at self learners to be the hardest to get through. I do like some of the more academic textbooks, but I'm taking a break from those for now.

I've been meeting with a tutor a couple times a week and that has been going pretty well. We usually just have simple conversations about life, work, and other things. Sometimes the topics get a little too advanced for me and I revert back to English or some broken English-Korean hybrid, but overall I speak in Korean about 80-90% of the time and she speaks Korean about 90-100% of the time.