Ros's Language Log (Greek)

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
ros
White Belt
Languages: English (N), Latin, Russian, Greek (beginner)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=18561

Ros's Language Log (Greek)

Postby ros » Wed Oct 12, 2022 1:28 am

I've never done a language log before, but I'm hoping this will help keep me motivated to make progress in my language study. Some background on my starting point:

Latin: Took 4 years of Latin in school about a decade ago, ending with reading selections from Caesar's De Bello Gallico and the Aeneid. Those classes focused almost entirely on written translation, not composition or dictation. I find that I'm able to get the gist of written Latin documents, but am still lacking a lot of vocabulary and have forgotten many of the word endings. I would like to improve my ability to translate and compose.

Russian: Took 2 semesters of introductory Russian in college and forgot nearly all of it. I can remember basic vocabulary, and I still know the alphabet, but that's about it. It would be nice to revisit Russian; I've got some Russian reading material available in some history books my college library was discarding, but right now I am prioritizing Greek.