DJ's [insert original title here] log (SP/PT/FR)

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
dlt529
White Belt
Languages: English (N), Spanish (Adv), Portuguese (Intermediate)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org//vi ... 15&t=18534

DJ's [insert original title here] log (SP/PT/FR)

Postby dlt529 » Fri Sep 30, 2022 10:44 pm

I found this forum through the challenges people do here, and it was really inspiring. Maybe not inspiring, but just what I needed to reorient my language studies. I'm a Spanish teacher in higher ed, but I've always loved world language learning. As I kid, I went through a few years where I answered the question with "What do you want to be when you grow up?" with a succint "bilingual", which wouldn't have been so werid if I hadn't grown up in the US Midwest in a monolingual environment. I'm hoping a language log will help me stay motivated and keep my accountable.

Spanish
My long-term goal is to take the ACTFL OPI next summer. I've never taken a proficiency test in Spanish before, but I know (feel?) my level is pretty high. I'm comfortably advanced. To prepare, I want to consume 500 hours of (aural) input, 5000 pages of written input, and write 50,000. For the input, I usually listen to podcasts in the morning when I walk my dog, and I'm trying to get more into Spanish TV shows. Reading isn't an issue, I love reading, especially mysteries and thrillers, but I want to try to read some more classics too. For the writing, I post to Journaly to get corrections, but I haven't been very motivated. I might try creative writing--I think my level is decent enough and the writing doesn't have to be good, just in Spanish. I also do Anki every day in Spanish.

Current Progress
Listening: 50.6/500 hours
Reading: 856/5,000 pages
Writing: 1538/50,000 words
Anki streak: 73 days

Portuguese