French via input training

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
Stiv_MacRae
White Belt
Languages: English (N), French (A2)

French via input training

Postby Stiv_MacRae » Sun Sep 04, 2022 1:52 pm

I didn't set out to learn French. I just wanted to take a walk.

This post summarizes the "input" training method that I'm following for learning French that I referred to in my post in the "Krashen" thread.

I'm 72-years-old, and the centerpiece of my daily routine is a 1-hour walk. I got tired of listening to my own thoughts, so I thought, "why not French". I had a similar thought back in the 90s, when I had a long commute to and from work. I listened to a lot of French tapes and learned to say quite a few of things. I thought I'd do it again. I also thought that studying a second language would help keep my brain alive.

I'm not a complete beginner. Thirty years ago, I absorbed a Berlitz audio phrasebook, which consisted of the phrases you need to know when traveling. My pronunciation was good, but my comprehension was terrible. I could say a lot of things, but I understood almost nothing. I haven't used it in 20 years. I also completed two Paul Noble audiobooks, which explained how French is structured and how tenses are built. I do not, however, study grammar. I might generously have been described as Level A1 when I started my present program.