Aiya's 2016 - Shanghai, Tokyo, Seoul, oh my!

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
AiyaLianxi
White Belt

Aiya's 2016 - Shanghai, Tokyo, Seoul, oh my!

Postby AiyaLianxi » Sun Jan 03, 2016 6:50 am

Built into the title is why I'm studying. I want to get to those three cities. Navigate my way around, spend a week there every other year (or every year I can afford to) for the rest of my life. However, three languages, a day job, starting volunteer work, and working towards establishing a writing career? Unlike 2013, the year I crashed and burned in TAC on reddit, this year I'm going SMART. Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Realistic, Time-Bound goals.

FORMAL/EXAMS
I will be taking the HSK/HSKK (Mandarin Chinese), the TOPIK (KOREAN) and the JLPT (Japanese) language exams to give me an arbitrary deadline inflicted by someone else to push me towards the grammar goals that...just...haven't happened since college ended. However a certain embassy in a certain city hasn't told a certain university when they are offering one of these tests, so I will elaborate on the grammatical/test side of my goals in a later post. But as it's already the second, I wanted to start my log.

OUTPUT
For output, since I'm focusing on three languages, a different one taking focus every few months, I'm trying to figure out a reasonable amount of verbal output per language. Right now, I'm thinking 5 hours per language. Based on the output challenge here, I'm tempted to say 10 hours per language, but R stands for realistic. I have to a) be able to speak that long B) put up with the irritation of recording myself saying whatever it is and C) find time/energy to share it. So if I aim for 30 minutes of spoken output a month? -gulp- Okay, it's not happening first quarter 2016, but I can at least build the habit. Maybe posting the videos somewhere on this forum would help me keep motivation?

INPUT