Aliciaftw's 2016 TAC - Spanish & Korean

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
aliciaftw
White Belt
Languages: English (N), Learning Spanish and Korean
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1834

Aliciaftw's 2016 TAC - Spanish & Korean

Postby aliciaftw » Sat Jan 02, 2016 10:21 pm

Hello! I joined the forum yesterday and the TAC challenge. As an undergraduate I took classes in several languages, (Mandarin, French, and Spanish) and flirted with others. However, I've never actually focused on a language and for the most part I've forgotten everything that was taught within those classes. My only 'strong' L2 is Spanish, and I'm using the term strong very loosely here! I study Linguistics, and I think part of my issue is I'm really fascinated in glancing at the overall structure of a language but I'm a bit apathetic about learning it for communicative purposes. Such a shallow understanding of a language won't allow me to truly understand the structure and nuances of a given language and I therefore really need to buckle down and focus on something!

That being said, my main goal is going to be to brush up on the Spanish concepts I've forgotten and to improve overall. On the side I'm also going to casually study Korean, (mainly because I'm in love with Korean dramas,) but this is really going to take the backseat to Spanish. I plan to create a weekly progress post.
Last edited by aliciaftw on Fri Jan 08, 2016 1:44 am, edited 3 times in total.
5 x

Spoonary
Blue Belt
Languages: English (N)
Español (Adv), Italiano (Int), Esperanto (I try)

Re: Aliciaftw's 2016 TAC - Spanish & Korean

Postby Spoonary » Sat Jan 02, 2016 10:30 pm

Greetings Alicia! It's always great to see someone else take on Spanish. I often forget what the beginner/intermediate stages were like and I enjoy watching people work through them. Does that make me :twisted: ?