a very lazy korean reading log

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
tlbodrick
Languages: English (N), Korean (Beginner)

a very lazy korean reading log

Postby tlbodrick » Fri Jul 01, 2022 11:39 pm

Hey, all. I've been studying Korean since around 2018, but it's always been in a very lackadaisical, undisciplined, going months at a time without opening a book sort of way and I haven't learned half as much as I thought I would by now. Unfortunately, I don't think even a log is going to change my studying habits. Discipline isn't even in my English vocabulary. But, I plan to use this space to document my reading progress - and by extension, my vocabulary and grammar. I'm armed only with a RidiBooks account and a Netflix subscription and I just plan to do what I enjoy for now. The format is gonna look something like this:

- Title/Source
- Chapter #
- Unknown vocab #
- Unknown grammar #
- Additional thoughts

Sometimes I'll be reading SRT's of K-dramas, sometimes I'll be cracking open a webnovel, sometimes I'll just be skimming a webtoon. I'll probably drop everything at least once because I tend to lose interest rather quickly, but I'm hoping this log will give me some kind of motivation. I'm thinking I'll update at the end of every chapter with my stats, but I'm not a consistent reader even in English so some updates might be within a few days, others might take a few months. Who knows? I'm just gonna have fun and enjoy what I'm reading.

The end goal is to be able to turn some pages without having to look up a word. For some context on my current level, I just read the first paragraph of a college-aged, romance web novel called Semantic Error. The first paragraph is about 3-sentences long and, of those sentences, I had to look up 13 words. Discouraging, but you know, I'm not starting absolutely from nowhere.