Sae's Log (Vietnamese, Tuvan & Mongolian)

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
Sae
Green Belt
Languages: English (Native)
Vietnamese (Intermediate)
Mongolian (Beginner)
Tuvan (Beginner)
Toki Pona (Beginner)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=18201

Sae's Log (Vietnamese, Tuvan & Mongolian)

Postby Sae » Mon Jun 20, 2022 8:09 am

Ahoyhoy, I'm a new member here, but figure I give one of these a try to keep track, especially now I am learning more than 1 language and I know it is a challenge.

What and Why?

Vietnamese: Intend to visit the country and maybe even work there, there is a demand for my job and I have a list of reasons why I'd want to move there, but it's a big decision and one I've yet to make. Even if I dont, it'll be a good place to visit more than once. And I liked the idea of learning a new language and would like to speak Vietnamese when I go to Vietnam, so I started learning it.

Tuvan: I have been learning Tuvan throat singing. The interest comes from a rabbit hole I dug myself into, it started from taking an interest in Mongolia, its culture, history and music and it broadened from there and found an interest in Tuva too. I ended up buying a Morin Khuur (in my avatar) and started to learn and joined a couple of online groups related to it. And then I saw an advertisement in a group for Tuvan throat singing lessons and I jumped at the opportunity. The guy teaching me lived in Tuvan until recently and his fiancé is Tuvan. As part of my learning to sing in Tuvan, I will need to learn some Tuvan.

But if I am going to learn some Tuvan, why not learn some fluency in Tuvan? I know it's an endangered language, so it feels silly to miss the opportunity to learn it. Especially as I have people I'd be able to practice it with.