Moregon's Southern Vietnamese Journey: Road to Wedding

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
Moregon
Languages: Italian (N), English (C2), Japanese (B2-C1), Vietnamese (A1)

Moregon's Southern Vietnamese Journey: Road to Wedding

Postby Moregon » Wed May 04, 2022 1:12 pm

INTRODUCTION
A log by a new member of the forum but not of the language learning community. :D
Aside from English (acquired in a more natural way through school and intense media consumption), I have been studying Japanese on and off for the last ten years, often procrastinating by lurking on old and new communities (the old koohii board, Reddit, sometimes HTLAL etc.).
By doing so, I've tried with varying success basically every method, tool and fad: Anki, goldlists, subs2srs, L-R, Heisig, extensive reading, intensive listening, couple of months of language school in the country and so on and so forth...
The result is an optimistic C1 in reading ability, a B1-B2 in listening (good with real life conversations, less with TV and radio), an embarassing A2 in speaking.
Putting Japanese temporary on the back burner, I now want to take advantage of my experience (if not the shining examples of the actual results...) to tackle a new project: learning Vietnamese, specifically the Southern dialect!
My wife is Vietnamese, but all these years we've been communicating through our other shared languages (Italian, English, a little bit of Japanese). In a few months, thought, we'll be travelling to Vietnam to celebrate our (belated, thanks COVID) wedding there, and this time I don't want to play the part of the dumb, silent, westerner like I did during my previous trips: I want to actually sound dumb by trying to chat with her family and friends! :D
So here it is, apart from my personal situation, I hope that this log will become a decent guide to a lesser known language!

THE LOG