Dylan413's Language Log

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
dylan413
Yellow Belt
Languages: English (N)
Russian (C2)
Italian (B2)
Ukrainian (B1)
Azeri (A2)
French (A2)
Turkish (A2)
Uzbek (A2)

Dylan413's Language Log

Postby dylan413 » Thu Feb 17, 2022 7:59 pm

Hi, everyone.

I've been a member of the forum since 2016 under the name dylan329. Unfortunately, I forgot my password after a lengthy period of absence from the site. Hopefully, I'll post more frequently and study more consistently, but I have to admit, it's been quite difficult me over the past year due to the demands of my job.

Currently, I'm studying Azerbaijani language. My native language is English and I speak Russian fluently as a second language. I also have a significant amount of experience studying Latin, French, Italian, Ukrainian, and Uzbek. Unfortunately, my active skills in these languages are pretty much nil thanks to years of neglect. I hope on revisiting some of these languages in the future, but at the moment, Azerbaijani is my main priority. I don't care to become a particularly eloquent Azerbaijani speaker, but I would like to become reasonably comfortable in the language due to the fact that Azerbaijan is the country where I currently reside.

Update: August 24th
I'll detail my language background below:
- I took Latin for six years in a classroom environment between the ages of 12 and 18. This was my first serious introduction to foreign-language learning.
- I took French for three years also in a classroom environment between the ages of 15 and 18.
- I took a semester of intensive Italian language classes in the first years of my studies at university.
- I took five semesters of Russian at university before moving to a small city in Russia for two years, where I immersed myself fully in Russian. I have spoke Russian on a daily basis ever since.